Learning To Relax

relax

Without fail, every Monday morning, I am asked the same question: “What did you DO this weekend?”  I know this is asked by well meaning (and apparently highly energetic people), yet when I give my answer of “As little as possible” they actually seem disappointed.  When I return the courtesy and inquire as to their weekend activities, I receive answers such as “I went to the lake and spent all day partying” (as their bloodshot eyes and extensive sunburn would indicate), or “I rode my Harley to the upstate and went hang-gliding/parachuting” or I receive an entire litany of events from those who apparently have neither the need for, nor desire to, sleep.

While all these activities are enjoyable and I have done many of them, I am quickly understanding that relaxation is becoming a lost art (much like thinking).  You see, I work very hard.  Thus, when I have time away from work, why on earth would I want to spend that cherished time further exhausting myself so I can return to work on Monday and whine about how tired I am and complain about how much certain parts of my body/bones/organs are in pain due to something I did when I had time away from work.

People find humor in the thought that vacation time, for me, is spent resting, recharging, and recuperating.  This is not to say that I do absolutely nothing when I am away from work, but I am not one to see how many activities and adventures I can cram into the brief time away.

One particular co-worker drags into the office very late every single Monday morning, complaining about some injury or how hung over they are and just could not get out of bed to make it on time (yet they will always claim on their time entry to have been a couple of minutes early).  Lately this person, methinks, is beginning to catch on to this tactic and have become wearied of it.

Why is it such a plague upon those who choose to use their time away as a time to actually relax, recharge, think, and explore?

Leave a Reply

