The Path Ain’t Easy

complicated-simplicity

The journey ahead

Is fraught with challenges,

Trials, memories, nightmares,

And difficulties.

This is a road

Which only I can follow

Slowly and painfully

Walking, running,

and sometimes crawling

But this road will be traveled

Even though the destination

Is as yet unknown

I can no longer stay here

I must move forward

I must grow and learn

I must learn to deal, cope,

And I must learn to let go.

Let go….

There is the rub!

The scars are deep

The cuts still bleed.

The pain still sharp.

To let go though

Is to find freedom

Freedom from the anger

Freedom from the hate

Freedom from the past

Even though the scars remain

The scars prove that I survived!

2 thoughts on “The Path Ain’t Easy

Leave a Reply

